Parry and Kerrigan called up to England Performance Programme
Wednesday 24th November 2010

Stephen Parry and Simon Kerrigan have both been called up to the England Performance Programme.

The ECB today announced further details of the England Performance Programme including the award of the new Harold Larwood Fast Bowling scholarship to Australia.

The England Performance Programme is designed to identify and develop players who have the potential to play for England. Sixteen players were selected for a programme which began in early November and was initially based in Loughborough. The squad is currently training in Brisbane before travelling to Perth. Players are following a bespoke programme designed to support each player's continued development and to prepare them to thrive in international cricket as well as providing support to the Ashes Test squad. A full list of players and details of fixtures is available on www.ecb.co.uk/news/england/england-performance-programme.

In addition seven players are participating in the Fast Bowling Programme this winter. This group includes Stuart Meaker (Surrey) who has been nominated as the first recipient of the Larwood Fast Bowling Scholarship which will be nominated annually and enable a young fast bowler to spend a winter in Australia receiving specialist coaching and playing 'grade' cricket.

The scholarship has been created as part of the Fast Bowling programme following discussions between the Board and the surviving members of the Larwood family based in Australia.

ECB Managing Director England Cricket, Hugh Morris, said: "Harold Larwood is rightly regarded as one of the greatest fast bowlers of all time and with an Ashes tour underway, we felt this was an appropriate time to honour Harold's memory and inspire future generations of young pace bowlers to emulate his achievements.

"The scholarship will be managed by our National Lead Fast Bowling Coach Kevin Shine and provide an excellent opportunity for a young fast bowler to extend their cricketing education in Australia each winter. We are very grateful to the Larwood family for their co-operation and support and wish Stuart well when he departs for Australia for a three month period early next year."

For six other players the Fast Bowling Programme involves five week long conditioning blocks at the National Cricket Performance Centre in Loughborough followed by three weeks in India working with ECB coaches alongside Dennis Lillee.

Players who have recently taken part in the Fast Bowling Programme include Ashes Test squad member Steven Finn (England and Middlesex), and Chris Woakes (England Lions and Warwickshire), Jade Dernbach (Surrey) and Maurice Chambers (Essex) who will be travelling to Australia as part of the England Performance Programme. 

In addition four players will take part in a spin bowling programme early in 2011 based in India designed to aid both spin bowlers and batsmen looking to develop their skills against spin bowling.

Ten young players are spending the winter in Adelaide and Perth playing 'grade' cricket and receiving coaching as part of the ECB Scholarship Programme. 

ECB Performance Director, David Parsons, said: "The England Performance Programme is carefully structured to meet the specific needs of talented players depending on their stage of development and after consultation with the player and their County coaches. For those players on the EPP it is an opportunity to test themselves in different conditions and strengthen their case for inclusion in England squads in the future."

Fast Bowling Programme

Harold Larwood Fast Bowling Scholarship:
Stuart Meaker (Surrey)
James Harris (Glamorgan)
Jacob Ball (Nottinghamshire)
Nathan Buck (Leicestershire)
David Payne (Gloucestershire)
Andy Carter (Nottinghamshire)
Boyd Rankin (Warwickshire)

Spin bowling programme

James Vince (Hampshire)
Jos Buttler (Somerset)
David Wainwright (Yorkshire)
Simon Kerrigan (Lancashire)

ECB Scholarship Programme

Scott Borthwick (Durham)
Joe Root (Yorkshire)
Jaik Mickleburgh (Essex)
Jack Taylor (Gloucestershire)
Liam Norwell (Gloucestershire)

Matthew Coles (Kent)
Chris Dent (Gloucestershire)
Stephen Parry (Lancashire)
Richard Johnson (Warwickshire)
Rob Newton (Northamptonshire)