Lancashire Academy intake for 2010-2011
Monday 29th November 2010

Lancashire County Cricket Club has confirmed the players who have been selected in the 2010-2011 Lancashire Academy.

David Malcolm





David Malcolm


file copy

The list includes three existing Competition players, Joe Davies and Mattie McKiernan from Leigh and Ormskirk's Gavin Grifftihs. A further two, Tom Bailey and Jack Dewhurst  will play for Northern and Rainford respectively in 2011, having previously played at Vernon Carus (Palace Shield) and Clitheroe (Ribblesdale League).

The Lancashire Academy was first introduced in 2002 with the primary aim to produce world class cricketers through identifying, assessing and further developing the most talented players available to the Club. To date, the Academy has seen fifteen of its graduates sign professional cricket contracts. Of these Steven Croft, Tom Smith, Stephen Parry and Simon Kerrigan have made an immediate impact for Lancashire's First Team in recent years.

John Stanworth, LCCC's Academy Director, said: "This is the largest group of new players we have had for five years and it is an indication of the strength of our Emerging Players Programme, our representative cricket and the quality of competition for places from Cheshire and Cumbria.

"It also is reassuring for me with this squad that selection is not just limited to players we have known about for several seasons. One player has been given a provisional place having previously never before played county representative cricket. He was identified at the Lancashire under 19 trials, progressed in the Colts and excelled in our fixture programme.

"My sincere thanks go to the many volunteers and professionals who have helped Lancashire in this process and I look forward to working with this exciting and talented group of cricketers."

Academy Players

Muhammad Abid (right arm leg spin, right hand bat), Ashton CC
Tom Bailey (right arm fast/medium, right hand bat), Northern CC ex Vernon Carus CC
Yaqub Bhamji (right arm fast), Darwen CC
Chris Connolly (right arm fast), Chester Boughton Hall CC
Will Chapples (right arm swing, right hand bat), Furness CC
Alex Davies (wicketkeeper, right hand bat), Darwen CC
Joe Davies (wicketkeeper, right hand bat), Leigh CC
Jack Dewhurst (right arm fast/medium, right hand bat), Rainford CC ex Clitheroe CC
Gavin Griffiths (right arm fast, right hand bat), Ormskirk CC
Alexandra Hartley (left arm spinner), Read CC
Aaron Lilley (right arm off spin), Delph and Dobcross CC
Liam Livingstone (right arm wrist spin, right hand bat), Barrow CC
Mattie McKiernan (right arm leg spin, right hand bat), Leigh CC
Henry Thompson (right hand bat), 
Leyland CC


(first published on www.lccc.co.uk)