ECB t20 finals day - Ormskirk lose 5-1 in a bowl out
Friday 13th September 2013

The day that forty-four players had been looking to arrives and what happens? It rains, resulting in the semi-finals and final of the ECB National Club t20 being decided by a bowl out at the Oval's Indoor School.

Holders of the Trophy, Wimbledon and Banbury featured in the first semi final. Rain prevented a prompt start and when play was eventually possible, it was decided the teams should play seven overs per side. Banbury reached 27-5 after 6.2 overs but the rain returned and that was it for the day as far as playing on the grass was concerned.

There was then a bowl out in the Indoor School with each side being allowed ten balls. Wimbledon hit the wickets with their third, eighth and tenth balls whilst Banbury's only success was with their second ball. 3-1 to Wimbledon.

Chester le Street were at Finals Day for the third successive year but they and Ormskirk didn't even get a chance to go on to the field. Chester le Street could only hit the stumps twice in their bowl out. In reply, Ormskirk's Martyn Farrell missed with his first ball but hit with his second. Jamie Barnes hit with his first and missed with his second. Scores level, and captain Ian Robinson hit the stumps to make it 3-2.

The Final between Wimbledon and Ormskirk was also decided by a bowl out. Wimbledon hit the stumps with their second, third, fourth, sixth and eighth balls. In reply, Martyn Farrell missed with his two balls, Jamie Barnes hit and then missed before Ian Robinson missed with his two. It was then down to Nicky Caunce and Gavin Griffiths to get four out of four, but when Caunce bowled the equivalent of a beamer, it was all over and defending champions Wimbledon had retained the Trophy.

Commiserations to Ormskirk and their travelling band of supporters, but the main complaint is how can the ECB stage the final of a National Competition without having a reserve date to fall back on?


back row (l-r): MS Glayzer, LJ Hurt, IM Glayzer, J Barnes, IR Robinson (captain), S Brocken, MJ Farrell.
front row (l-r): JM Armstrong, OB Griffiths, NT Caunce, MP Morgan (coach), AJ Baybutt, G Knight (wicket keeper).
missing from photograph: GT Griffiths.