Ormskirk and Wallasey in Lancashire Knockout Cup semi finals
Friday 1st August 2003

Ormskirk are the visitors to holders, Walkden from the Bolton League, in their semi final of the Thwaites LCB Knockout Cup.

Ormskirk were finalists three years in succession from 1999-2001, beating Sefton Park in 1999. They met Walkden at the semi final stage in 2000 and were victims of a bowl out in last year's semi final at Kearsley.

David Snellgrove, Ormskirk's captain commented "We've been lucky enough to have had a good run in this Competition in the last few years and, having had a taste of Old Trafford, the lads are keen to go back there again. It will be a very tough game on Sunday as Walkden are run away leaders of the Bolton League at the moment. However we'll give it our best shot and hopefully that will be good enough. Hopefully we'll have an all Liverpool Competition final on August 17th and I wish our counterparts at Wallasey all the very best of luck in their semi final against Blackpool."

Ormskirk's side will be: David Snellgrove (captain), Abel Podger, Kevin Burns (wicket keeper), John Armstrong, Ian Glayzer, Ian Robinson, Adam Waterhouse, Mike Taylor, Jon Steele, Matthew Leah and Andy Clews.

Meanwhile, after appearing in four consecutive Cheshire Cup Finals and winning the first three, Wallasey decided this year to enter the Thwaites LCB Knockout Cup instead.

With wins against Walshaw, Ribblesdale Wanderers, Read and Spring View already under their belt, Wallasey find themselves up against Blackpool from the Northern League in the semi final at the Oval on Sunday, starting at 2:00 pm. Blackpool beat Netherfield by 9 wickets in the quarter finals after dismissing them for 149.

Wallasey captain Mike Beaver says: 'It's going to be a tough game but we hope to play well. We're a match for most sides. Generally we have been successful in knockouts at the Oval over the years. To play well is the most important thing.

"Blackpool have been a good side over the years and we will give them the respect they deserve. We're not looking to the final at Old Trafford until after the match but it would be good to play there."

Beaver added, "Wallasey Cricket Club has reached a crucial part of the season. Over the next 10 days we are in two quarter finals and one semi final, and are challenging Bootle to retain our league title. Every game is like a cup final."

Wallasey's semi final line up is: Mike Beaver (captain), Dave Hadden, Rob Turnbull, Mike Hughes, Paul Strang, Phil Luxon, Dave Conlan, Chris Bourne, Nick Doggett, Paul Thistlewaite and Kevin McCullagh (wicket keeper).