Liptrot sends Highfield to final
Sunday 21st August 2005

Former Worcestershire paceman, Chris Liptrot, took Highfield to final of the Littlewoods Gaming Knockout Trophy after taking 6-24 against last year's finalists, Newton le Willows, at Crow Lane East.

Electing to bat, Highfield struggled against the bowling of Ikram-ul-Haq Malik and Aaron Scott. Half the side were out for 98 but the late order battled it out with Simon Mollitt (22) and Neil Melling (15*) adding 39 for the ninth wicket. With no 11, Dave Liptrot, failing to trouble the scorers, Highfield finally totalled 184 after 43.4 overs, Malik finishing with 3-37 and two wickets apiece for Danny Barlow and Ian Lyon.

Fancying a second successive final, Newton's openers, Shiv Das and Ian Lyon had added 26 when Das was caught behind by Tony Clark off Liptrot for 21. Captain Ian Walkden followed for 0 and with the fall of four further wickets, three to Liptrot, the paceman had 5-19 after 6 overs and Newton found themselves at 41-6.

Aaron Scott (20) was the only other Newton batsman to reach double figures and when Liptrot returned to bowl wicket keeper Chris Waite for 7 and finish with figures of 6-24, Highfield had completed what, in some quarters had seemed an unlikely victory by 95 runs. scorecard

In the other semi final at Brook Lane, holders Bootle had a quick passage into yet another final, the 1st XI's fourth, and the club's seventh of the season.

Ormskirk chose to bat and, after reaching 65-5, lost their last five wickets for 8 runs with former skipper, David Snellgrove taking 4-14 and Gavin Reynolds 3-22.

Snellgrove fell for 9, lbw to Sanford, in Bootle's reply but Ian A Cockbain (33*) and Paddy McKeown (24*) saw the Wadham Road through to the final at Highfield on Sunday 11th September. scorecard