ECB Premier League statistics for 2016
Saturday 12th November 2016

Here are the end of season statistics for the ECB Premier League, statistics that won't be found anywhere else.

In 2016, 40590 runs were scored for the loss of 1923 wickets in 11391.1 overs.

Of the 132 matches, there were 103 results (78.03%), 18 draws (13.63%), 4 no decisions (3.03%) and 7 abandoned without a ball being bowled (5.30%).

New Brighton's Rake Lane ground yielded 4233 compared to Rainford's Jubilee Ground's 2760. Most wickets (170) fell at Rainhill. table 1  table 2

Formby scored most runs with 3766 whilst champions, Leigh, took most wickets (188), one more than Bootle.

Despite finishing bottom of the table, Birkenhead Park were one of two teams to face more than 1000 overs, 1016.1 compared to Wallasey's 1022.4. table 3  table 4

Formby (1009.5) and New Brighton (1001.2) were the only teams to bowl more than 1000 overs. table 5  table 6

21 centuries were scored and the scorer of the second century next season will also register the 500th since the formation of the division in 1999.

There were 39 century partnerships during the season to bring the total to 712 since 1999.

On to personal achievements, Leigh's Ross Zelem headed the runs list with 898 (avge 74.83) whilst Mohammad Aslam took 79 wickets (avge 11.35) in his last season at Rainhill with Leigh's Mattie McKiernan on 78 (avge 11.67).

Wallasey's Tom Russ took most catches by an outfield player (23) with Bootle's Jackson Knight taking 22.

Leigh's Matthew Hibbert headed the wicket keeping list with 37 victims, 34 caught and 3 stumped.

club averages, batting averages, bowling averages

Colwyn Bay's Shrikant Mundhe became the first bowler in the ECB Premier League to take ten wickets in an innings when he claimed 10-85 against Birkenhead Park on 27/08/2016. Watching the match were Park's Tony Shillinglaw who took 10-28 for Park at Neston in 1973 and the Bay's Bill Lloyd (see below).

Mundhe was the fourth Colwyn Bay player to take ten wickets in an innings, following Alf Cassley, who was 1st XI professional in the 1950s, Bill Lloyd and David Madoc-Jones, who both achieved the feat whilst playing for the 2nd XI.

It was the fourth time a bowler had taken ten wickets against Birkenhead Park, following WO Davies' 10-47 for Hightown in 1924, AD Milne's 10-38 for Huyton in 1936 and more recently, Dick Carr's 10-66 for Bootle in 1991.

for full statistics, see also:

Premier Division / ECB Premier League records